Fosti con me nel pericolo e nella vittoria
Top of page
Results Results
Schedule Schedule
Gallery Gallery
Career Career
Fitness Fitness
Culinaria Culinaria
Hobby Hobby
Info Info
 Home  Home
Family Family
News News
 Previous page
 Next page

Lakeville, July 4, 2005

JJ Lehto and Marco Werner returned to the top step of the podium in the American Le Mans Series on Monday, winning the New England Grand Prix at Lime Rock Park for their third victory in four races this season. Their No. 1 Champion Racing Audi R8 survived a packed track to win at Lime Rock for the second year in a row.

Champion Racing continued its momentum following an overall victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans last month with another 1-2 ALMS finish, its third of the year. Frank Biela and Emanuele Pirro ran less than a second behind the No. 1 car for the last hour.

The race was decided when the race went green and a car could not avoid a slow Panoz at the restart, which had gear selection problem, the Pirro Audi R8 was caught in that race incident too. The No.2 Audi, at that time in the lead, drove through the pits to have the team visually check if any repair was necessary and returned on the track just after JJ Letho, with a very long yellow the Pirro/Biela Audi did not get the chance in the last laps to get the lead back. It was a very hard battle, JJ Letho even forced the No. 2 Audi onto the green.

The next race for the American Le Mans Series is the Infineon Technologies Grand Prix of Sonoma presented by Ravenswood Winery, set for 11 a.m. PDT on July 17 at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif.

Results and points

1. Marco Werner/JJ Lehto

Audi R8 165

2. Frank Biela/Emanuele Pirro

Audi R8 165

3. Olivier Beretta/Oliver Gavin

Corvette C6-R 159

4. Ron Fellows/Johnny O`Connell

Corvette C6-R 157

5. Terry Borcheller/Johnny Mowlem

Saleen S7R 156

6. Andrea Bertolini/Fabio Babini

Maserati MC12 156

7. Alex Figge/Ryan Dalziel

Corvette C5-R 155

8. Romain Dumas/Timo Bernhard

Porsche 911 GT3154

9. Jeff Bucknum/Chris McMurry

Courage C-65 154

10. Patrick Long/Jorg Bergmeister

Porsche 911 GT3153

11. van Overbeek/Jon Fogarty

Porsche 911 GT3152

12. Butch Leitzinger/James Weaver

Lola EX257 AER  151

13. Ian Baas/Randy Pobst

Porsche 911 GT3151

14. Justin Jackson/Tim Sudgen

Porsche 911 GT3150

15. Marino Franchitti/Bryan Sellers

Panoz Esperante 150

16. Ben Devlin/Gunnar Van der Steur

Lola B2K/40 AER 148

17. Seth Neiman/Lonnie Pechnik

Porsche 911 GT3148

18. Bill Auberlen/Robin Liddell

Panoz Esperante 148

19. Mike Rockenfeller/Wolf Henzler

Porsche 911 GT3141

20. Andy Wallace/Chris Dyson

Lola EX257 AER 121

21. Guy Cosmo/Jamie Bach

Courage Mazda 114

22. Michele Rugulo/Tom Weickardt

Dodge Viper 11

Positions after 4 of 10 rounds

1 Marco Werner  &  JJ Lehto


3 Emanuele Pirro & Frank Biela


5 James Weaver & Butch Leitzinger


6 Andy Wallace


7 Chris Dyson


8 Tom Kristensen


9 Allan McNish


10 Guy Smith


11 Tom Chilton


12 Hayanari Shimoda


7/7/2023, 10:30:55 PM cet
Contact Contact
 Copyright  Copyright

Mail to a friend

Frank Biela before the start
 Audi R8 #1 (Team ADT Champion Racing), Marco Werner
 Audi R8 #1 (Team ADT Champion Racing), Marco Werner
 Audi R8 #2 (Team ADT Champion Racing), Emanuele Pirro
Marco Werner and Team Owner Dave Maraj